If you have turned on Back up and Sync, photos and videos you delete will stay in your trash for 60 days before they are deleted forever. 

Before you get started

Download and install the Google Photos app.  

Delete photos & videos

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. Tap and hold a photo or video you want to move to the trash. You can select multiple items.
  4. At the top, tap Delete Delete.

Important:

  • If you delete a photo or video that’s backed up in Google Photos, it will stay in your trash for 60 days.
  • If you delete an item from your Android 11 and up device without it being backed up, it will stay in your trash for 30 days.
  • If you see a photo or video in Google Photos that you think you deleted, it might be on a removable memory card. To delete it, use your device’s gallery app.

Empty your trash

If you see a request to “Delete permanently” when you try to move an item to trash, your trash is full. Your trash can hold 1.5GB.

Important: If you empty your trash, you permanently delete any items in your trash.

To empty it:

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. At the bottom, tap Library and then Trash and then More More and then Empty Trash and then Delete permanently.

Remove an item from your device

To permanently delete an item from your device:

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. Select the items you want to delete from your Android phone or tablet.
  4. In the top right, tap More More and then Delete from device.

Restore photos & videos

If you deleted an item and want it back, check your trash to see if it’s there.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. At the bottom, tap Library and then Trash Delete.
  3. Touch and hold the photo or video you want to restore.
  4. At the bottom, tap Restore. The photo or video will be back:
    • In your phone’s gallery app
    • In your Google Photos library
    • In any albums it was in

If the item is not in your trash, it may be permanently deleted.

Don’t see the photo or video?

If a deleted photo or video isn’t in trash, you can’t restore it. You won’t be able to restore a photo if:

  • You moved it to trash more than 60 days ago.
  • You moved it to trash, then emptied your trash.
  • You moved it to trash more than 30 days ago on an Android 11 and up device, and it wasn’t backed up.
  • You permanently deleted it from your trash.
  • You permanently deleted it from your device’s Gallery app, without backing it up first.

To find and recover photos easily, turn on back up and sync.

Important: If your Google Photos account is inactive for 2 years or you’re over your storage limit, your content may be impacted. 

By moseax

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.